Community Coordinators are an integral part of Northwest Folklife’s mission and vision to celebrate, share, and participate in the evolving traditions of the Pacific Northwest. Throughout the year, Northwest Folklife and Community Coordinators work in partnership to co-curate programs and collaborate to present the diversity of cultures and traditions of the region. As experts and representatives of their community, their input is an invaluable part of the planning process.

More than 100 Community Coordinators work closely with staff to program more than 65% of the Northwest Folklife Festival and the Seattle Children’s Festival. This is achieved through careful consideration of the unique needs of the community, artists, and audience, as well as reflecting on how to adequately grow and embrace the ever-changing cultural traditions and landscape of the region. These are ongoing conversations, and the ensuing relationships grow deeper year by year, requiring year-round programming staff to maintain, nurture and grow.

The goal for this program is to strengthen our relationship with the multitude of communities we serve through existing connections we have with Community Coordinators. With this, we can better understand how Northwest Folklife’s mission can support their community’s goals and further develop a program of reciprocity that will enrich the region’s diverse communities through multi-cultural participatory arts programming.

During its forty-five years, Northwest Folklife has been involved with an extraordinary group of communities throughout the Pacific Northwest. Northwest Stories combines images and sounds that tell a community’s story in its own words. The first group of Northwest Stories is a series of eight videos with Community Coordinators that explore communities that have long been a part of the annual Northwest Folklife Festival. Listen, watch and learn more here.

Northwest Folklife is curated in collaboration with Community Coordinators. Thank you to these amazing leaders!

Alexander Krynytzky
Ali Ghamberi
Alicia Craven
Alisa Lahti
Alma Plancich and Maria Kesovija
Amy Carroll
Audrey Goodman
Bernice Maslan
Bob Barnes
Bob Hamilton
Carl Copeland
Carrie and Kristen Watt
Charmaine Slaven
Cherie Trebon
Clare Woolgrove
Claudia King
Colleen Ross
Dan Roberts
Danny Adamson
Dean Paton
Devon Leger
Don Meyers
Edgardo Garcia
Eduardo Mendonça
Elinor Vandergrift
Eric Gilbert
Evan Flory-Barnes
Francisca Garcia
Gabe Strand
Gabriel Marowitz
Greg Vandy
Gregg Porter
Gustavo Clark
Georgio Brown
Hamdi Abdul
Harvey Niebulski
Helen Gilbert
Ilana Rubin
Izumi Fairbanks
Janet Stecher
Jaydeen Robinson
Jerin Howard
Jim Belcher
Jim McGill
Joan Rabinowitz
John Hayden
Joseph Seamons
Joyce Paul
Julia Krasnov
Karen Shaw
Kathy Bruni
Katrina Ji
King Khazm
Kitty Wu
Lara Davis
Laurence Chapman
Leigh Bezezekoff
Levi Fuller
Luther Black
Maggie Stapleton
Manu Radford
Marchette Dubois
Marisol Sanchez Best
Martha Cohen
Mary Sherhart
Mary Ohno
MaryLee Lykes
Melody Xie
Michelle Shaevitz
Mindie Lind
Mish Mish
Nikkita Oliver
Pam Berry
Patrick McMonagle & Marjorie Nugent
Patty Leverett & Sonny Newman
Rob Pastorok
Robert  Sarazen Blake
Robynne Hawthorne
Roger Del Rosario
Sam Keator
Sarah Comer
Scot McKay
Sherry Nevins
Sidney &Tom Deering
Stuart Williams
Su Nelson
Sue Isley
Sue Truman
Tina LaPadula
Tiphany Overzat
Tony Mates
Trisha Tubbs
Wayne Palsson
Wes Weddell
Wilfred Padua
Yasemin San