Northwest Folkife

Meet Our Community Coordinators

Central to the values of Northwest Folklife is for communities to have voice and agency in the representation of their cultural expressions. More than 150+ Community Coordinators, including prominent artists, educators, culture bearers, and leaders throughout the region work closely with Northwest Folklife throughout the year to collaborate and co-create programs including the Northwest Folklife Festival as well as the annual Cultural Focus and Our Big Neighborhood youth and family program. These relationships are an integral part of our mission and vision. “As the lifeblood of all Northwest Folklife programs, our relationships with Community Coordinators, are the heart and soul of the organization,” says Northwest Folklife Executive Artistic Director, Kelli Faryar.

Adrian Olivas | By Christopher Nelson

“Being a Community Coordinator for Northwest Folklife means a lot to me because it gives me an opportunity to make a connection between regional Mexican folk groups and Folklife. It gives every artist involved the opportunity to meet each other and share a stage but most importantly, we get to build new relationships. I have been performing with Folklife with Bailadores de Bronce for about twenty-two years and, as a performer, it is something we always look forward to. Now, I have been able to share experiences and introduce new organizations to the Folklife family.”- from Community Coordinator, Adrian OlivasMexican Folklórico Community, Executive Director of Bailadores de Bronce, Alum Cultural Focus Member of Echoes of Aztlan and Beyond.

Northwest Folklife is curated in collaboration with Community Coordinators. Thank you to these amazing leaders!

Adrian Olivas
Afshin Sepehri
Alex MacLeod
Alicia Craven
Alisa Lahti
Alma Plancich
Amy Carrol
Andreea Isac
Audrey Goodman
Becky Errera
Benji Rifati
Bernice Maslan
Bo Johnson
Bob Barnes
Bob Hamilton
Bruce Baker
Carl Copeland
Charmaine Slaven
Cherie Trebon
Chris Zapata
Clare Woolgrove
Colin Michael McGee
Colleen Ross
Daniel Pak
Danny Abramson
DeVon Mainer
Dean Paton
Deepali Jamwal
Dennis Caldirola
Devon Leger
Don Meyers
Edgardo Garcia
Eduardo Mendonca
Eleni Govetas
Elias Bullock
Elinor Vandergrift
Eric Gilbert
Fasil Teka
Francisca Garcia
Gabriel Marowitz
Hamdi Abdul
Harvey Niebulski
Helen Gilbert
Ilana Rubin
Ioana Bratie
Ixtli Salinas-White Hawk
Izumi Fairbanks
JJ Stein
JP Paredes
Jay Hollingsworth
Jaydeen Robinson
Jerin Howard
Jerome Apis
Jerrell Davis
Jill Green
Jim Belcher
Jim Boneau
Jim McGill
Joan Rabinowitz
Joanna Stodden
John Hayden
John Romero
Joseph Seamons
Joyce Paul
Kabao Xiong
Karen Shaw
Kate Berwanger
Kathy Bruni
King Khazm
Kitty Wu
Kyle Schierbeck
LaTanya Horace
Latha Samburthi
Lawrence Chatman
Levi Fuller
Lila Kitaeff
Lolie Farinas
Lucy Fei
Manu Radford
Marjorie Nugent
Martha Cohen
Mary Ohno
MaryLee Lykes
Melanie Paredes
Melody Xie
Michelle Demers Shaevitz
Mish Mish
Nikkita Oliver
Patrick McMonagle
Patty Leverett
Percy Hilo
Peter McCracken
Ramona Holmes
Randy Pomeroy
Rebecca Ray
Rex Kinney
Rick Harlan
Robert Blake
Robert Rutherford
Roger del Rosario
Sam Keator
Sarah Comer
Scot McKay
Sean Jewel
Sherry Nevins
Sidney Deering
Simon Okelo
Sonny Newman
Stefanie Brendler
Su Nelson
Sue Truman
Tiphany Oversatz
Tom Keeney
Tom Landa
Tomo Nakayama
Tony Mates
Tracey Wong
Tricia Diamond
Vitamin D
Wayne Palsson
Wes Weddell
Yasemin San

Interested in becoming a Community Coordinator? Email us!